Deleting stakeholders

Stakeholders can only be deleted if they don't have any transactions, documents, reports, beneficiaries, or signatures associated.

Note: You can check if they have anything related to them on the Stakeholders page, in the column "Usage" by hovering over the icons.

Step 1: Determine if the stakeholder can be deleted

  • Can't be deleted → If a stakeholder is involved in any historic transactions 

Example: an investor that bought shares and then sold them to another investor. The investor currently doesn't own any shares, but the transactions for them still exist and newer transactions are based on theirs. In that case, the stakeholder can not be deleted as that would mean one of the historic transactions would be missing a mandatory field: Stakeholder.

The stakeholder can't be removed, but you can revoke access, remove the email address and move the stakeholder to a separate group, e.g. Ex-investors.

  • Can be deleted → If historic transactions involving the stakeholder can be deleted or the stakeholder in the transaction can be replaced with another stakeholder 

Example: A stakeholder was added to a transaction, but it was not the correct stakeholder. You can either delete the transaction or swap the stakeholder in the transaction for the correct one.

  1. Go to the Stakeholders page
  2. Under the "Usage" column check whether the stakeholder still owns any shares
  3. If they don't own any shares, then you can publish the changes on the Transactions page and continue to step 2 below.


Step 2: Revoke access and remove any related documents, signatures, reports, KPIs, beneficiaries

  • If you can delete the stakeholder, based on the above criteria, then proceed with revoking access and detaching the documents.
  • If there are no icons under the Usage column, you are free to delete the stakeholder immediately.

Icons and steps to remove the associated documents

Documents

  1. Go to Documents > Data room and find any documents that have the stakeholder in the "Sharing" column
  2. Hover over the document, click on the 3 dots and select "Share"
  3. Remove the stakeholder and click Save

Signatures

  1. Go to Documents > Signatures and find any documents that have the stakeholder in the "Signers" column
  2. Hover over the document, click on the 3 dots and select "Delete"

KPIs

  1. Go to Investor Relations > KPIs

  2. For basic KPIs, click on Settings > Sharing and for Custom KPIs, click on the Edit icon > Sharing.

    If the stakeholder appears under Sharing, then remove it. If the group they belong to appears there, then go back to the Stakeholders page > Edit > Change the group they belong to (e.g. to Ex-investors)

Reports

  1. Go to Investor Relations > Reports
  2. Click on the Edit icon and look under the field "Sharing". If their name appears there, then remove it. If the group they belong to appears there, then go back to the Stakeholders page > Edit > Change the group they belong to (e.g. Ex-investors)

Troubleshooting

The "Remove" button is disabled

  1. Is the stakeholder removed from the transactions and the transactions are published?
  2. Are there any outstanding signatures? You have to delete them.
  3. Is the stakeholder still invited? Revoke their access first.